texaschad25

Genave DeCoder

Wed May 23, 2007 8:15 pm

I am new at this stuff guys so bear with me. Our small town is in the process of getting a couple of 2T22's from another municipality. These sirens are not currently wired up but when they were, they had Siratrol boxes on them and they have not been in use in 5+ years. The frequency will need to be changed for decoding and so on.

I checked into this Genave RXC2000 control box as an update to this project and was wondering what kinda of feedback you guys could give me. Like I said earlier, I believe that the siratrol boxes are still on there.

Thanks,
Chad

500AT

Wed May 23, 2007 8:33 pm

The Federal Siratrol controllers are very nice, but have one significant problem. According to a radio that I know from Motorola, they can't be used in the new FCC mandated Narrowbanding project for VHF and UHF frequencies. Moreover, if your department is using narrowband technology, there are certain limitations on tone frequencies that can be used. However, I was told by Federal that replacement parts are no longer available for the Siratrol. Therefore, looking at a new controllers might be the best thing to do in the long-run.

I know some fire departments here have purchased the new Federal Controller and hooked it up to older sirens, and they have reported no problems in doing so. Likewise, you can obtain a very nice controller from Sentry Siren, which should work just fine with the 2T22 units. You would have to specify what kind of timing you would want on the fire signal if any.

Sincerely yours,

Ron W.

"When your siren's a failin', chances are it's a Whelen."

500AT

Wed May 23, 2007 8:39 pm

Here is the link to the RXC-2000 Controller:

http://www.genave.com/rxc-2000_specs.htm

Sincerely yours,

Ron W.

texaschad25

Wed May 23, 2007 8:44 pm

Thanks Ron. Would you still depend on a Siratrol Box today or are they out of date and independable? I dont know how we would test it.

Thanks,
Chad

JasonC
Administrator